Shortlist for the 2023 Manly Wade Wellman Award

The North Carolina Speculative Fiction Foundation was proud to announce this list of 10 finalists for the 2023 Manly Wade Wellman Award for North Carolina Science Fiction and Fantasy, presented in alphabetical order by author last name:

  • Steel Mill Vikings by Sarah Joy Adams (Falstaff Books)
  • Other Birds by Sarah Addison Allen (St. Martin’s Press)
  • Prophet’s Debt by Robert Creekmore (Cinnabar Moth Publishing)
  • Ghost of a Marriage by Richard Dansky (Crossroad Press)
  • Burning Shakespeare by A.J. Hartley (Falstaff Books)
  • The Quarter Storm by Veronica Henry (47North)
  • Nettle & Bone by T. Kingfisher (Tor Books)
  • Station Eternity by Mur Lafferty (Ace)
  • Lost In Time by A.G. Riddle (Head of Zeus)
  • Malice House by Megan Shepherd (Hyperion Avenue)

The winner(s) will be announced at ConGregate 9 on Friday, July 14, 2023 in Winston-Salem, NC as part of the convention’s opening ceremonies.

The Manly Wade Wellman Award was founded in 2013 to recognize outstanding achievement in science fiction and fantasy novels written by North Carolina authors. The 2023 award covers novels published in 2022.

The award is named for long-time North Carolina author Manly Wade Wellman with the permission of his estate.

To promote the writing and reading of speculative fiction in North Carolina and to recognize outstanding achievements in North Carolina science fiction and fantasy.