Nominees for the 2017 Manly Wade Wellman Award

The 2017 Manly Wade Wellman Award for North Carolina Science Fiction and Fantasy covers science fiction and fantasy novels published in 2016 by North Carolina authors.

This is the nominees list published June 2, 2017, which is the result of voter selection from the final eligibility list through the nominations process, presented in alphabetical order by primary author last name:

  • Death’s Bright Day by David Drake (Baen Books)
  • Steeplejack by A.J. Hartley (Tor Books)
  • Pawn’s Gambit by Darin Kennedy (Falstaff Books)
  • Shadow and Flame by Gail Z. Martin (Orbit Books)
  • War Pigs by Jay Requard (Falstaff Books)

The nominees were announced at ConCarolinas in Charlotte, NC on Friday, June 2. Additionally, final voting will be open, Monday, June 5 at 12:00:00 AM through Monday, July 3, 2016 at 11:59:59 PM Eastern Time. The winner(s) will be announced at ConGregate on Saturday, July 15.

To register to place an award ballot, please submit a voter registration form.

The Manly Wade Wellman Award was founded in 2013 to recognize outstanding achievement in science fiction and fantasy novels written by North Carolina authors. The 2017 award, voted on by the combined membership of North Carolina science fiction and fantasy conventions (illogiConConCarolinas, and ConGregate), covers novels published in 2016. Nominations open at illogiCon in January and the nominees are announced at ConCarolinas in June ahead of the final voting round, with the award being presented at ConGregate in July.

The award is named for long-time North Carolina author Manly Wade Wellman with the permission of his estate.







To promote the writing and reading of speculative fiction in North Carolina and to recognize outstanding achievements in North Carolina science fiction and fantasy.