Nominees for the 2015 Manly Wade Wellman Award

The 2015 Manly Wade Wellman Award for North Carolina Science Fiction and Fantasy covers science fiction and fantasy novels published in 2014 by North Carolina authors.

This is the nominees list published May 29, 2015, which is the result of voter selection from the final eligibility list through the nominations process.

The list is presented in alphabetical order by primary author last name:

  • The Sea Without a Shore by David Drake (Baen)
  • Hamlet, Prince of Denmark by A.J. Hartley and David Hewson (Audible)
  • Ghost Train to New Orleans by Mur Lafferty (Orbit)
  • Reign of Ash by Gail Z. Martin (Orbit)
  • Bad Wizard by James Maxey (Antimatter Press)

The Manly Wade Wellman Award was founded in 2013 to recognize outstanding achievement in science fiction and fantasy novels written by North Carolina authors. The 2015 award, voted on by the combined membership of North Carolina science fiction and fantasy conventions (illogiConConCarolinasConTemporal, and ConGregate), covers novels published in 2014. Nominations opened at illogiCon in January ahead of a final voting round, with the award being presented at ConGregate in July.

The award is named for long-time North Carolina author Manly Wade Wellman with the permission of his estate.




maxey-BadWizard-final-print-front-cover martin-Reign-of-FINAL

lafferty-ghost-98825ec3dab4734b8496b78ee40053b4 drake-sea-81VdARraIJL


To promote the writing and reading of speculative fiction in North Carolina and to recognize outstanding achievements in North Carolina science fiction and fantasy.