Announcing the nominees for the 2015 Manly Wade Wellman Award

Monday, June 1, 2015, Durham, NC:

The North Carolina Speculative Fiction Foundation is proud to announce the nominees for the 2015 Manly Wade Wellman Award for North Carolina Science Fiction and Fantasy, presented in alphabetical order by primary author last name:

  • The Sea Without a Shore by David Drake (Baen)
  • Hamlet, Prince of Denmark by A.J. Hartley and David Hewson (Audible)
  • Ghost Train to New Orleans by Mur Lafferty (Orbit)
  • Reign of Ash by Gail Z. Martin (Orbit)
  • Bad Wizard by James Maxey (Antimatter Press)

The nominees were announced publicly at ConCarolinas in Concord, NC on Friday, May 29. Additionally, final voting is now open, through Monday, June 29, 2015 at 11:59:59 PM Eastern Time. The winner(s) will be announced at ConGregate on July 11.

To register to place an award ballot, please submit a voter registration form.

The Manly Wade Wellman Award was founded in 2013 to recognize outstanding achievement in science fiction and fantasy novels written by North Carolina authors. The 2015 award, voted on by the combined membership of North Carolina science fiction and fantasy conventions (illogiConConCarolinasConTemporal, and ConGregate), covers novels published in 2014.

The award is named for long-time North Carolina author Manly Wade Wellman with the permission of his estate.

[For additional PR material related to this announcement including book cover art and print-suitable information sheets, please visit the nominees page.]