Shortlist for the 2021 Manly Wade Wellman Award

The North Carolina Speculative Fiction Foundation was proud to announce this shortlist of 8 finalists for the 2021 Manly Wade Wellman Award for North Carolina Science Fiction and Fantasy, the result of a juried selection from the 24-title longlist, presented in alphabetical order by author last name:

  • Natania Barron, Queen of None (Vernacular Books)
  • Emily Colin, Sword of the Seven Sins (Blue Crow Books)
  • Tracy Deonn, Legendborn (Margaret K. McElderry Books)
  • T. Frohock, Carved from Stone and Dream (Harper Voyager)
  • A.J. Hartley, Impervious (Falstaff Books)
  • Whitney Hill, Elemental (Benu Media)
  • T. Kingfisher, Paladin’s Grace (Argyll Productions)
  • Jay Posey, Every Sky a Grave (Skybound Books)

The winner(s) will be announced at ConGregate 7 / DeepSouthCon 59 on Saturday, July 10, 2021 as part of an awards ceremony also including the Phoenix Award and Rebel Award.

The Manly Wade Wellman Award was founded in 2013 to recognize outstanding achievement in science fiction and fantasy novels written by North Carolina authors. The 2021 award covers novels published in 2020.

The award is named for long-time North Carolina author Manly Wade Wellman with the permission of his estate.


To promote the writing and reading of speculative fiction in North Carolina and to recognize outstanding achievements in North Carolina science fiction and fantasy.