Finalists for the 2019 Manly Wade Wellman Award

The North Carolina Speculative Fiction Foundation was proud to announce the finalists for the 2019 Manly Wade Wellman Award for North Carolina Science Fiction and Fantasy. These finalists are the result of juried selection from the final eligibility list, presented in alphabetical order by author last name:

  • In the Night Wood by Dale Bailey (John Joseph Adams Books)
  • Pride and Prometheus by John Kessel (Saga Press)
  • The Bond by Robin Kirk (Goldenjay Books)
  • The Crossing by Jason Mott (Park Row)
  • Empire of Silence by Christopher Ruocchio (DAW)
  • Finders by Melissa Scott (Candlemark & Gleam)

The winner(s) will be announced at ConGregate on Friday, July 12.

The Manly Wade Wellman Award was founded in 2013 to recognize outstanding achievement in science fiction and fantasy novels written by North Carolina authors. The 2019 award covers novels published in 2018.

The award is named for long-time North Carolina author Manly Wade Wellman with the permission of his estate.







To promote the writing and reading of speculative fiction in North Carolina and to recognize outstanding achievements in North Carolina science fiction and fantasy.