Announcing the winner of the 2015 Manly Wade Wellman Award

Friday, July 17, 2015, Durham, NC:

The North Carolina Speculative Fiction Foundation is proud to announce the winner of the 2015 Manly Wade Wellman Award for North Carolina Science Fiction and Fantasy,  after the result of voter selection from the nominees, in turn the result of voter selection from an eligibility list of over 80 novels. The award was presented on July 11, 2015, to Durham author Mur Lafferty for Ghost Train to New Orleans.

Ghost Train to New Orleans
by Mur Lafferty
Orbit Books

Lafferty won last year’s inaugural award for novel The Shambling Guide to New York City. Accepting the award on Lafferty’s behalf, Dennis Ti read her prepared remarks, which included her appreciation of the work of her fellow nominees, and her announcement that she has recused herself from award consideration for next year’s award.

The Manly Wade Wellman Award was founded to recognize outstanding achievement in science fiction and fantasy novels written by North Carolina authors. The 2015 award, voted on by the combined membership of North Carolina science fiction and fantasy conventions (illogiConConCarolinasConTemporal, and ConGregate), covers novels published in 2014.  Nominations opened at illogiCon in January ahead of a final voting round after ConCarolinas, with the award presented at ConGregate in July.

The award is named for long-time North Carolina author Manly Wade Wellman with the permission of his estate.